How to Cancel LA Fitness: Mail, In Person, Online, and the $10 Freeze

LA Fitness lists three ways to cancel. The 5-business-day postmark rule, the early-exit fee, the $10 freeze, and what the FTC alleges in its pending case.

Published

LA Fitness’s own Membership Questions page says “Most club memberships are month-to-month and may be cancelled at any time” in one of three ways: by mail, in person at a club, or through your online account. The rule that costs people money is the mail deadline. LA Fitness counts the postmark, not the day the letter arrives, and the postmark has to be at least five business days before your next billing date. This guide covers each path, the early-exit fee, the freeze that costs $10 a month, and what the FTC says about LA Fitness cancellations in a lawsuit that is still pending.

The quick answer

  • Three ways to cancel, per LA Fitness: “by mailing written notice of cancellation to P.O. Box 54170, Irvine, CA 92619,” “in person at a club (please see the front desk),” or “via your online account or as may otherwise be provided in your agreement”
  • The mail deadline: “A mailed cancellation form postmarked at least 5 business days before your next billing date should result in no further billings”
  • If you miss it: “you may be billed once more,” but “we will refund that additional billing”
  • A phone call is not on the list. The page names mail, in person, and your online account, and adds that “depending on your state of enrollment, you may be able to cancel by email”
  • Initial term of three months or more: inside it, “your cancellation will be effective when the initial term ends,” and leaving before then means “a termination fee will apply.” The page does not give the amount
  • Prepaid time is yours: “you may still use the club for any pre-paid time”
  • A cheaper pause exists: a freeze costs $10 a month on monthly dues and $35 for up to six months if you paid in full
  • The FTC sued the operators in August 2025 over how hard canceling was. Its case page lists the case as “Pending,” and what it says are allegations, not findings

Key facts at a glance

QuestionAnswer
Ways LA Fitness listsMail, in person at a club, your online account (or as your agreement provides)
Mailing address for a cancellationP.O. Box 54170, Irvine, CA 92619
Mailing address for paymentsPO Box 51355, a different box in the same city
Mail deadlinePostmarked at least 5 business days before your next billing date
Certified mailRecommended, not required: “we recommend registered or certified mail”
PhoneNot among the listed methods
EmailOnly “depending on your state of enrollment”
Initial term of 3+ monthsCancellation takes effect when the term ends; leaving early carries a termination fee, amount not on the page
Prepaid last monthApplied after your final recurring payment, then the membership expires
Freeze, monthly dues$10 per month
Freeze, Paid In Full$35, up to 6 months
Freeze, weekly duesNot allowed
FTC caseFTC v. Fitness International, LLC, No. 8:25-cv-01841 (C.D. Cal.), listed as Pending

Diagram: three ways to cancel LA Fitness, by mail with a postmark at least five business days before the billing date, in person at the club front desk, or through your online account, with the rule that an initial term of three months or more ends the cancellation when the term ends

Method 1: Cancel by mail

LA Fitness’s page puts mail first: “by mailing written notice of cancellation to P.O. Box 54170, Irvine, CA 92619,” with a note of its own, “we recommend registered or certified mail and keeping a record for your files.” Two details are easy to miss:

  • The cancellation box is not the payment box. The same page tells members who send a payment to use “PO Box 51355,” a different box in the same city. The page gives P.O. Box 54170 for cancellations, so use that one
  • The deadline runs on the postmark. Planet Fitness’s rule turns on when the club receives your notice (see our Planet Fitness guide). LA Fitness’s turns on the date your letter is postmarked, so the dated mailing receipt is your proof

The deadline sentence says “A mailed cancellation form,” and the FTC’s press release says LA Fitness has instructed consumers to “log into its website and print a cancellation form.” The page’s first sentence, though, names “written notice of cancellation.” Use the form if your account gives you one; if not, written notice is the method the page names.

What to put in the letter (our suggestion, not an LA Fitness requirement):

  1. Your full name as it appears on the membership, your address, phone number, and email
  2. Your member barcode or ID number and your home club. The payment instructions on the same page say “Be sure to put your barcode on the check,” so a barcode number exists on your account
  3. One plain sentence saying you are canceling your LA Fitness membership, and, if you are inside an initial term, that you want it to end when the term does
  4. The date and your signature

Keep a copy, photograph the sealed envelope, and keep the mailing receipt. The FTC says LA Fitness “did not tell them what information to include” in a written request, which is why the list above spells it out.

Method 2: Cancel in person

The page’s second option is “in person at a club (please see the front desk).” Ask for a written confirmation that shows the date your cancellation was recorded, and keep it.

The FTC alleges a problem here. Its press release says “Consumers could only cancel with one specific employee,” which, the FTC says, restricted cancellation to times when consumers are typically at work. If a front desk tells you to come back, write down the date, the time, and the name of the person who said so, and mail your notice the same day. LA Fitness’s own deadline for mail runs on the postmark, so mailing a notice does not have to wait for a second visit.

Method 3: Cancel online

Three LA Fitness pages touch on the online route, and they do not line up neatly:

  • The Membership Questions page lists “via your online account” as a way to cancel
  • The Contact Us page has a Cancel option with the choices “Take me to where I can cancel online” and “Ask a question about canceling my membership,” and a prompt that asks “Would you mind telling us why you need to cancel your membership?” It also says “Please sign in to your LA Fitness account to send us a message”
  • The Member Login page lists what the account does: “Update your profile, make a payment, change your billing information, freeze your membership.” Canceling is not in that list

We could not test the online cancellation flow, because it needs a member login. If your account shows a cancel option, use it and screenshot the confirmation. If it does not, mail the notice or go in on the same day rather than waiting for the page to change.

If you cannot sign in, the FTC says resetting a lost login takes the email address used to establish the membership, the key tag number assigned at signup, and the first five digits of the card or bank account on file. Gather those before you start. LA Fitness says its replies to the Contact Us form come from contactus@fitnessintl.com, which helps you spot a fake.

The dates: five business days, counted

The sentence to plan around: “A mailed cancellation form postmarked at least 5 business days before your next billing date should result in no further billings. If notice is postmarked within 5 business days, you may be billed once more. If this occurs, we will refund that additional billing.”

The page does not define “business days.” The usual meaning skips weekends, and a federal holiday in the window pushes the date back by one more day. On that reading:

Your next billing date is aLatest postmark that meets the rule
Monday through FridayThe same weekday, one week earlier (no holiday in between)
Saturday or SundayThe Monday of that week
Any day, with a federal holiday in the windowOne business day earlier than the row above

That table is our arithmetic, not LA Fitness’s wording, so mail earlier than the minimum. A separate passage on changing billing details says billing starts processing “usually 3-5 days before your bill date,” which is a second reason not to mail at the last moment. Ten days of margin costs nothing and covers a slow post office.

If you miss the window, the page’s promise is a refund of the one extra billing. Ask for it in writing and cite the sentence above.

Initial terms and termination fees

Month-to-month members can cancel on the rules above. A longer agreement works differently. If your membership, personal training, or other agreement has an initial term of three months or more, the page says that outside the initial term “you may also cancel at any time,” and inside it “your cancellation will be effective when the initial term ends.” If you want out before the term ends, “a termination fee will apply.” For questions about these cases or a paid-in-full agreement, the page says to “visit your local club or contact us.”

The page does not state the fee. Look in your signed agreement, or ask the club to put the amount and the end date of your initial term in writing before you decide when to cancel.

Personal training is its own contract. The FTC’s complaint describes those agreements as “generally for a term of six to twelve months” and says that canceling before the end costs “a fee equal to 50 percent of the remaining balance due through the end of the term.” That is the FTC’s description, and your agreement controls, so read the personal training paragraph before you sign or cancel.

If you prepaid your last month at enrollment, the page says those dues are “applied to the month following the month purchased by the final recurring dues payment that you made before we received your cancellation notice,” and “Your membership will expire at the end of that prepaid last month.” You do not get that month back in cash, but you can use it.

Freeze instead of canceling

For a long trip or an injury, LA Fitness offers a freeze that it calls “a great way to keep your membership in place at a reduced cost.” It works, the page says, “if you are not planning on using your membership for more than 30 days (medical issue, gone for the summer, etc.) and your dues are more than $10 a month.”

Your planWhat the page says
Monthly dues”an indefinite amount of time for a fee of $10 per month”
Paid In Full”up to 6 months by paying a $35 freeze fee,” and the expiration date moves out by the time you freeze
Bi-weekly dues”an indefinite amount of time for $5 per bi-weekly billing”
Weekly dues”Weekly Dues members may not suspend their memberships”
Kids Klub”an indefinite amount of time at no cost”

Two rules decide whether the freeze saves money. First, timing: “If your next billing date is within 10 days, the freeze is effective for the following month’s billing,” so a freeze requested at the last minute still lets one month of dues through. Second, the exit: when you unfreeze, “you will be charged a pro-rated amount of your regular dues for that month.” To freeze, log in and use the Freeze link in the left side menu.

For example, with $40 monthly dues and a three-month absence, a freeze costs $30 in fees against $120 in dues. Our guide to pausing a subscription instead of canceling covers when that trade is worth it.

Add-ons are separate charges

Canceling the base membership may not end everything on your bill. The FTC says LA Fitness “failed to clearly inform consumers that they can cancel add-on amenities and services individually, without affecting their gym membership,” adding that such services “could be cancelled by virtually any gym employee.” The complaint names towel service and childcare among the add-ons.

Whether or not that allegation holds up in court, the practical step is simple. After you cancel, check the next two statements line by line for add-on charges and ask the club to cancel each one in writing.

If you were charged after canceling

  1. Compare the dates. If your notice was postmarked inside the five-business-day window, LA Fitness’s page promises a refund of the one extra billing. If it was postmarked outside the window and you were still billed, send the proof
  2. Send the proof in writing. The dated receipt, the signed copy of your notice, the screenshot of an online confirmation, and the club’s written confirmation if you went in. Our guide to a canceled subscription that is still charging lists what to keep
  3. Check for add-ons. A towel service or other add-on can keep billing after the base membership ends
  4. Dispute the charge with your card issuer or bank, and keep the cancellation in writing too. The FTC’s consumer alert says to “dispute it with your credit or debit card company” and warns that “Just changing your credit or debit card number is often not enough.” The FTC’s press release adds an allegation that members who stop charges at the bank “are rebilled, often under new account numbers.” Our bank dispute guide covers the steps
  5. Report it at ReportFraud.ftc.gov, as the FTC’s alert suggests

The FTC case: what it says and what it does not

On August 20, 2025, the FTC “sued the operators of LA Fitness and other gyms over allegations they make it exceedingly difficult for consumers to cancel their gym memberships.” The defendants are Fitness International, LLC and Fitness & Sports Clubs, LLC, which the FTC says operate gyms with “more than 600 locations and over 3.7 million members nationwide.” The FTC’s case page shows an amended complaint posted in January 2026 and lists the case status as Pending. It says the agency “is seeking a court order prohibiting the allegedly unfair conduct and money back for consumers harmed by the difficulty in cancelling memberships.”

The allegations most relevant to you are the ones above: cancellation limited to the gym or the mail, one specific employee in person, certified mail instructions, and phone or email requests turned down. The FTC’s press release says plainly that “The case will be decided by the court,” so none of this is a finding. Nothing on the FTC’s case page, as read on October 3, 2026, is a claim form or refund program. The FTC says it “will never demand money, make threats, tell you to transfer money, or promise you a prize,” so treat any message that asks you to pay to claim an LA Fitness refund as a scam.

What the case means for you today: the cancellation paragraph on LA Fitness’s page is the policy to follow, and the allegations are a checklist of what can go wrong. That is why this guide keeps pushing the paper trail: the postmark receipt, the signed notice, the written confirmation.

How do I cancel my LA Fitness membership online? Through your online account, which the Membership Questions page lists. The Contact Us page has a Cancel option with “Take me to where I can cancel online.” Sign in first, and keep the confirmation.

Can I cancel LA Fitness by phone? The page does not list phone as a method. The Contact Us page invites you to “Call customer service with any questions,” and the FTC alleges that staff were trained “to deny cancellations requested by phone or email.” Use mail, in person, or your account.

What is the LA Fitness cancellation address? P.O. Box 54170, Irvine, CA 92619. The payment address is a different box.

Does LA Fitness require certified mail? The page says “we recommend registered or certified mail.” That is a recommendation. It makes sense because the receipt proves the date you mailed.

How much notice do I have to give? A postmark at least five business days before your next billing date. Mail earlier to be safe.

Can I cancel LA Fitness by email? The page says only that “depending on your state of enrollment, you may be able to cancel by email.” If your agreement lists an email address for cancellation, that is the route. If it does not, mail or go in.

How much is the LA Fitness cancellation fee? The page names a termination fee only for canceling inside an initial term of three months or more, and it does not state the amount. Your signed agreement does.

Will LA Fitness refund my last month? The page’s rule is that prepaid time stays usable, and the membership “will expire at the end of that prepaid last month.”

How do I freeze LA Fitness? Log in and use the Freeze link in the left side menu. It costs $10 a month on monthly dues.

Bottom line

LA Fitness lists three ways to cancel: mail to P.O. Box 54170, in person at the front desk, or through your online account. Mail it with a postmark at least five business days before your billing date, keep the dated receipt, and do not send it to the payment box. If you are inside an initial term of three months or more, the cancellation takes effect when the term ends, and leaving earlier carries a fee the page does not quantify. If you are only pausing, the freeze costs $10 a month on monthly dues. Check your statements for two billing cycles afterward, including add-ons, and use the written proof if anything keeps charging. New York City members have one more lever since October 1, 2026: the city’s click-to-cancel rule requires businesses to let you cancel the way you signed up, and our NYC Click-to-Cancel guide explains the rule and how to file a complaint. For other chains, see our guide to canceling any gym membership.

Cancellation methods, the postmark rule, initial-term and prepaid-time terms, and freeze fees quoted from LA Fitness’s Membership Questions page; the online options from its Contact Us and Member Login pages; and the FTC’s statements from its August 20, 2025 press release, case page (status read October 3, 2026), amended complaint, and consumer alert. We could not test the online cancellation flow, which requires a member login. Terms can vary by state and by agreement, and the FTC’s allegations are unproven. This is general information, not legal advice.

Official sources