Spectrum Mobile's Free Line for a Year: The Price After, and the $40 Catch

Spectrum Mobile gives new customers a first Unlimited line at $0 for a year, then $30, $40 or $50 a line; the FAQ prices a single line at $40. Spectrum Internet required.

Published

Spectrum Mobile is a phone plan you can only buy if you already pay Spectrum for internet, and its headline offer is a year of one line for nothing. As of October 10, 2026, Spectrum’s mobile plans page lists three plans, Unlimited at $30 a month, Unlimited Plus at $40 and Unlimited Plus Premium at $50, each priced per additional line, with new customers’ first line at $0, $10 or $20 a month for the first year. The requirement is in the FAQ: “Spectrum Mobile is available exclusively to Spectrum Internet customers.” And one FAQ answer contains a number the plan cards do not: “The standard price for one Unlimited Mobile line is $40/mo.” This guide sets out the three plans in Spectrum’s words, the first-year offer and what the line costs after it, the hotspot, video and travel differences, the Anytime Upgrade program, and the places the page’s own numbers need reconciling. Seven carriers are lined up in our cell phone plan comparison.

The quick answer

  • Unlimited, “$30/mo”: “Unlimited talk, text and data in the US with 480p video streaming,” “5 GB high-speed mobile hotspot usage,” “2,000 minutes per line of monthly calling to Canada and Mexico.” Offer: “New customers: First line is $0/mo for 1 year”
  • Unlimited Plus, “$40/mo”: “720p HD video streaming,” “10 GB high-speed mobile hotspot usage,” “Unlimited talk, text and data in 215+ countries and destinations (data speeds reduced at 10 GB),” “Anytime Upgrade access.” Offer: “New customers: First line is $10/mo for 1 year”
  • Unlimited Plus Premium, “$50/mo”: “4K UHD video streaming,” “50 GB high-speed mobile hotspot usage,” travel data reduced at 20 GB, “Free smartwatch data plan,” and a “$10/MO DEVICE CREDIT” worth “Up to $360 off any new phone ($10/month credit).” Offer: “New customers: First line is $20/mo for 1 year”
  • After the year: “Unlimited for $30/mo per line, Unlimited Plus for $40/mo per line and Unlimited Plus Premium for $50/mo per line”
  • The $40 line: the FAQ also says “The standard price for one Unlimited Mobile line is $40/mo,” with $30 being “per additional line”
  • Requirement: “you need an active Spectrum Internet account to qualify for Spectrum Mobile service”

Key facts at a glance

UnlimitedUnlimited PlusUnlimited Plus Premium
Price per additional line$30$40$50
New customer’s first line, first year$0$10$20
Standard one-line price per FAQ$40Not statedNot stated
Video480p720p4K UHD
Hotspot at high speed5 GB10 GB50 GB
Travel2,000 minutes a month to Canada and MexicoPlus data in 215+ countries, reduced at 10 GBPlus data in 215+ countries, reduced at 20 GB
Anytime UpgradeNoYes, $35 fee per upgradeYes
Device creditNoNo$10 a month, up to $360 a year
Smartwatch dataNot listedNot listedFree
Requires Spectrum InternetYesYesYes

Prices from Spectrum’s mobile plans page and its FAQ, read October 10, 2026 and rechecked October 30, 2026, US. Spectrum Internet is required for every plan. What that internet plan costs next to six other providers, tier by tier, is in our home internet price comparison.

Diagram: Spectrum Mobile in October 2026, Unlimited at 30 dollars a line with 480p video and 5 GB of hotspot, Unlimited Plus at 40 with 720p, 10 GB of hotspot, travel data in 215 plus countries and Anytime Upgrade, Unlimited Plus Premium at 50 with 4K, 50 GB of hotspot, a free smartwatch plan and a 10 dollar monthly device credit, the first line free or 10 or 20 dollars for new customers' first year, and the catch that it is sold only to Spectrum Internet customers with the FAQ listing 40 dollars as the standard single-line price

The one condition that comes first

Spectrum’s mobile plans page opens with “With your Spectrum Internet® plan, Unlimited Mobile service is free for a year. Add more lines to cover the whole family from $30/mo.” The FAQ makes the dependency explicit: “Spectrum Mobile is available exclusively to Spectrum Internet customers,” and you need an active internet account to qualify. The mobile price is therefore always a second bill on top of an internet bill.

The free first line

The offer is a year of one Unlimited line at $0: “One Unlimited line ($30/mo value) is included free for 1 year with Spectrum Internet and AutoPay. You can also upgrade that first line to Unlimited Plus for just $10/mo more or Unlimited Plus Premium for $20/mo more,” which is why the three cards show first-year prices of $0, $10 and $20. The FAQ sets what happens next: “After your first year, the promotional rate on your first line will expire. Depending on your plan, service will then continue at the following rates: Unlimited for $30/mo per line, Unlimited Plus for $40/mo per line and Unlimited Plus Premium for $50/mo per line.” And it limits the deal: “The free year applies to your first line only.”

By our math a new customer’s first year costs $0, $120 or $240 for one line, then $360, $480 or $600 a year at the per-line rates.

Unlimited: $30, 480p and 5 GB of hotspot

The base plan is “Unlimited talk, text and data in the US with 480p video streaming,” “5 GB high-speed mobile hotspot usage” and “2,000 minutes per line of monthly calling to Canada and Mexico.” Two lines are priced in the FAQ: “You can get two lines for $60/mo total. Each additional line is $30/mo.”

Unlimited Plus: $40, HD, travel data and Anytime Upgrade

Unlimited Plus is “Unlimited talk, text and data in the US with 720p HD video streaming,” “10 GB high-speed mobile hotspot usage,” “Unlimited talk, text and data in 215+ countries and destinations (data speeds reduced at 10 GB),” the Canada and Mexico minutes, and “Anytime Upgrade access.” The FAQ defines the upgrade program as up to four new phones in a rolling 12-month period for “one flat $35 upgrade fee,” available only on Unlimited Plus and Unlimited Plus Premium. For travelers on the base plan, the page offers an alternative: travel is “included with Unlimited Plus plans or add a Global Day Pass for $10/day.”

Unlimited Plus Premium: $50, 4K, 50 GB and a device credit

The top plan is “Unlimited talk, text and data in the US with 4K UHD video streaming,” “50 GB high-speed mobile hotspot usage,” travel data “reduced at 20 GB,” a “Free smartwatch data plan,” Anytime Upgrade and a “$10/MO DEVICE CREDIT” described as “Up to $360 off any new phone ($10/month credit).” The FAQ sums it up as the most comprehensive plan, with the upgrade program, up to $360 a year in device savings, 50 GB of hotspot and the free smartwatch plan. By our math the $10 step from Plus is covered by the device credit for anyone buying a phone through Spectrum, and the $20 step from Unlimited buys 45 GB more hotspot, 4K and the watch plan.

Switching help and the network

Spectrum advertises “Switch and get up to $2500” with “We’ll help cover your remaining phone balance to make the switch easier,” and lists “Connect to 45 million free WiFi hotspots” alongside nationwide 5G. The 5G footnote notes that a “5G compatible phone and 5G service required.”

Where the page’s numbers need reconciling

$30 or $40 for one line. The cards price plans “per additional line” at $30, $40 and $50, and the FAQ says “The standard price for one Unlimited Mobile line is $40/mo,” with the free year applying to that first line. Read together, a single Unlimited line after the promotional year is $40 by the FAQ and $30 by the “per line” renewal sentence; Spectrum’s page does not reconcile the two, so confirm the first-line renewal price before you count on $30.

Internet is mandatory. The mobile price never stands alone.

The free year needs AutoPay. The FAQ ties the free line to “Spectrum Internet and AutoPay.”

Hotspot is capped at high speed. 5 GB, 10 GB and 50 GB.

Travel data slows abroad. At 10 GB on Plus and 20 GB on Premium.

Taxes. The plan text we read does not state whether taxes are included; check the order summary.

Before you sign up

This is a list of things to check, not a recommendation:

  1. Do you have, or want, Spectrum Internet? Without it there is no Spectrum Mobile
  2. New customer? The first Unlimited line is free for a year with AutoPay; upgrading it costs $10 or $20 a month
  3. Ask what the first line costs in year two. The FAQ says $40 for one Unlimited line; the renewal sentence says $30 per line
  4. Need hotspot? 5 GB, 10 GB or 50 GB at high speed by plan
  5. Buying a phone? Premium’s $10 monthly credit offsets its price over Plus
  6. Traveling? Plus and Premium include 215+ countries; the base plan can add a $10 Global Day Pass

How much is Spectrum Mobile? $30 a line for Unlimited, $40 for Unlimited Plus and $50 for Unlimited Plus Premium, with a new customer’s first line at $0, $10 or $20 for the first year, per Spectrum’s page read October 10, 2026 and rechecked October 30, 2026.

Do I need Spectrum Internet for Spectrum Mobile? Yes. Spectrum says mobile service is available exclusively to Spectrum Internet customers.

Is Spectrum Mobile really free for a year? One Unlimited line is included free for one year with Spectrum Internet and AutoPay for new customers; additional lines are paid.

How much is Spectrum Mobile after the first year? Spectrum’s FAQ gives $30, $40 or $50 per line by plan, and separately says the standard price for one Unlimited line is $40.

How much is Spectrum Mobile for two lines? $60 a month total on Unlimited per the FAQ, with the free year on the first line only.

What is Spectrum Anytime Upgrade? Up to four new phones in a rolling 12 months for a flat $35 fee each, on Unlimited Plus and Unlimited Plus Premium.

Does Spectrum Mobile include international data? Unlimited Plus and Premium include talk, text and data in 215+ countries, slowed after 10 GB or 20 GB; the base plan can add a $10 a day Global Day Pass.

What is the Spectrum Mobile device credit? $10 a month, up to $360 a year, on Unlimited Plus Premium toward a new phone.

Bottom line

As of October 30, 2026, Spectrum Mobile is $30, $40 or $50 a line for Spectrum Internet customers, with a new customer’s first Unlimited line free for a year and the two higher plans $10 and $20 a month on that line. The plans differ in video quality, hotspot (5 GB to 50 GB), travel data and the upgrade program, and Premium’s $10 device credit narrows its gap. The internet requirement is absolute, and the page’s own FAQ gives two prices for a single line after the free year. Comcast’s version, with its own $0 first year and internet rule, is in our Xfinity Mobile guide.

Prices, plan features, offer terms and quotations from Spectrum’s mobile plans page and its FAQ, read October 10, 2026 and rechecked October 30, 2026, US. First-year and annual totals are our own arithmetic. Spectrum’s page is the authority and may change. This is general information, not financial advice.

Official sources