Home Internet Price Compared: Seven Providers From $30 to $130 a Month
Home internet runs $30 to $130 a month: Spectrum and Verizon Fios from $30, Optimum $35, Xfinity $40 or $45, AT&T and T-Mobile $50, Starlink $55. Locks, equipment, fees compared.
Home internet in the US now costs between $30 and $130 a month on the providers’ own pages, and the cheapest number at each company comes with a different string attached. As of October 10, 2026, Spectrum and Verizon Fios both start at $30, Optimum at $35, Xfinity at $40 for one year or $45 locked for five, AT&T Fiber and T-Mobile 5G Home Internet at $50, and Starlink at $55. Some of those prices last a year, some are locked for five, some need a bank-account autopay, some need a phone plan from the same company, and only one says taxes and fees are inside the number. This guide lines up seven providers’ plans by speed tier, states each provider’s condition in its own words, and compares what is included, from modems to price locks.
The quick answer
- Cheapest advertised: Spectrum Internet 100 at $30 “for 1 year,” and Verizon Fios 300 Mbps at $30 with Auto Pay
- Cheapest around 300 Mbps: Verizon Fios $30, Optimum $35, Xfinity $40 for one year or $45 for five, AT&T Fiber $50, all with autopay-type discounts and before taxes and fees
- Cheapest gigabit: Optimum 1 Gig $55, Spectrum 1 Gig $60 for a year, Xfinity 1 Gig $60 for a year or $70 for five, Verizon Fios 1 Gig $80
- Wireless instead of wires: T-Mobile $50, $60 or $70 with AutoPay; Verizon 5G Home $60, $70 or $85, or $35, $45 and $60 with Auto Pay and a Verizon phone plan; Starlink $55, $85 or $130
- Longest locks: Xfinity’s 5-year tab, T-Mobile’s “5-Year Price Guarantee (exclusions like taxes & fees apply),” Verizon’s 3 to 5 years; Optimum’s “1-year price lock” or three years with a $10 add-on
- Taxes and fees inside the price: Verizon 5G Home only, with “All-in pricing, no hidden taxes and fees”
Key facts at a glance
| Provider | Entry price and speed | Gigabit price | Discount condition | Equipment | Price lock | Taxes and fees |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Spectrum | $30, 100 Mbps, for 1 year | $60 for 1 year | Online exclusive on 500 Mbps and 1 Gig | Modem free, router $10 (included at 1 Gig) | Year one only shown | Not stated on the plan cards |
| Verizon Fios | $30, 300 Mbps | $80 | Auto Pay and paper-free billing | Router included, $99 setup waived | 3 years (300, 500), 5 years (1 Gig and up) | Extra |
| Optimum | $35, 300 Mbps | $55 | $10 Auto Pay and Paperless discount | Free self-setup | 1 year, or 3 with a $10 add-on | Extra |
| Xfinity | $40 for 1 year or $45 for 5, 300 Mbps | $60 for 1 year or $70 for 5 | Bank-account autopay and paperless, or $10 more | WiFi equipment and unlimited data included | 5 years on the 5-year tab | Extra |
| AT&T Fiber | $50, 300 Mbps | Not captured on the page we read | $10 autopay and paperless discount within 2 bills | Not stated on the headline | Not stated | Extra |
| T-Mobile 5G Home | $50, speed not numbered | No gigabit tier; $60 and $70 are “fastest speeds” | AutoPay; $15 less with a voice line | Gateway included | 5 years | Extra |
| Verizon 5G Home | $60, or $35 with a phone plan | No gigabit tier; $70 and $85 tiers | Auto Pay plus a Verizon postpaid phone plan | Router included | 3 to 5 years | Included |
| Starlink | $55, 100 Mbps | $130 Max, up to 400+ Mbps | None; 100 and 200 Mbps plans in select areas only | Hardware free in select areas | None stated | Not stated |
Prices from each provider’s plans page, read October 10, 2026, US, with each provider’s standard autopay-type discount applied where it has one. Availability and exact prices vary by address.

What each price assumes
Xfinity. On its internet page, the cards say “Price includes $10/mo autopay and paperless discount,” and the terms require “Autopay w/ stored bank account and paperless billing req’d. Taxes and fees extra and subj. to change.” The pitch is “Get everything you need with no contract and no commitment,” and equipment and unlimited data are in the price. Two tabs: the one-year prices are $5 to $10 lower each month than the five-year prices, and the five-year prices hold for 60 months.
Spectrum. On its internet page, every price is “for 1 year,” the modem is free, and the router is extra: “add Advanced WiFi for $10/mo” below 1 Gig. The cards promise “No data caps, no contracts.” The year-two price is not printed.
Verizon Fios. Its Fios page states: “Fios: Auto Pay & paper-free billing req’d. $99 setup and other terms apply,” though every plan card lists “$99 pro setup fee waived.” Routers are included and guarantees run three years on 300 and 500 Mbps and five on 1 Gig and above.
Verizon 5G Home. The $35, $45 and $60 prices are “Discounted pricing with Auto Pay & any Verizon mobile phone plan.” Without the phone plan the tiers are $50, $60 and $75 with Auto Pay by our math, and the plans carry “All-in pricing, no hidden taxes and fees.”
AT&T Fiber. Its fiber page says: “Get unlimited 300Mbps internet for $50/mo.” with “Price plus taxes and fees after $10/mo. discount w/ elig. Autopay & Paperless bill (w/in 2 bills). Ltd. avail/areas.” The page title advertises “High-Speed Fiber Optic Internet Plans From $35/mo,” a price that did not appear on the plan cards we could read; AT&T’s faster tiers, 1, 2 and 5 Gig, are named but their prices sit behind the address check.
T-Mobile. On its plans page, each plan is ”+ taxes & fees” after an AutoPay discount, with “Get a $15 discount when you add a voice line” and a “5-Year Price Guarantee (exclusions like taxes & fees apply).” T-Mobile does not print speed figures on its plan cards.
Starlink. On its Residential page, no autopay condition, but “No upfront hardware cost in select areas,” and the two cheaper plans “are only available in select areas.” Every plan has “Unlimited Data.”
Optimum. On its internet page, each price is “w/ elig. $10 Auto Pay & Paperless Bill discount plus taxes and fees,” with “Free self-setup installation,” a “1-year price lock,” and an option to “upgrade to a 3-year price lock” by adding a $10 security and Wi-Fi package. Optimum also lists “No annual contracts with a 60-day money-back guarantee.”
By speed tier
Around 300 Mbps. Verizon Fios $30, Optimum $35, Xfinity $40 (one year) or $45 (five years), AT&T Fiber $50. Spectrum’s nearest tiers are 100 Mbps at $30 and 500 Mbps at $40, both for one year. By our math, the five-year cost of Xfinity’s locked 300 Mbps plan is $2,700; Fios’s three-year lock at $30 is $1,080 for three years with the price after that unstated on the plans page.
Around 500 Mbps. Spectrum $40 for one year, Optimum $45, Xfinity $50 (one year) or $60 (five years), Verizon Fios $65.
Gigabit. Optimum $55, Spectrum $60 for one year with the router included, Xfinity $60 (one year) or $70 (five years) with Peacock Premium for two years, Verizon Fios $80 with a five-year guarantee and Whole-Home Wi-Fi. Above a gig, Xfinity’s 1.2 Gig is $100 or $90, Verizon’s 2 Gig $90 and 5 Gig $100.
Wireless and satellite. T-Mobile’s three plans are $50, $60 and $70 with no speed figures; Verizon 5G Home is $60, $70 and $85 at list or $35, $45 and $60 for Verizon phone customers; Starlink is $55 for 100 Mbps, $85 for 200 Mbps and $130 for maximum speeds.
Equipment, data and fees
Equipment is included at Xfinity, Verizon and T-Mobile, free to self-install at Optimum, and split at Spectrum, where the modem is free and the router $10 unless you take 1 Gig. Starlink’s hardware is free only in select areas. Unlimited data is stated at Xfinity, Spectrum, T-Mobile and Starlink. Taxes and fees are extra at Xfinity, Verizon Fios, AT&T, T-Mobile and Optimum; Verizon 5G Home says they are included; Spectrum’s and Starlink’s plan cards do not address them.
How long the price lasts
The locks run from one year to five. Xfinity’s five-year tab and T-Mobile’s guarantee are the longest without add-ons; Verizon’s run three to five years by tier; Optimum’s is one year, or three with a $10 monthly add-on; Spectrum prints a first-year price only; AT&T’s and Starlink’s pages state no lock. Every guarantee covers the base rate, and Verizon, T-Mobile and Xfinity each say taxes, fees or discounts sit outside it.
Where the pages differ or need a second look
“Starting at” rarely means your address. Every provider gates exact prices behind an address check.
Two Xfinity prices for one plan. The one-year tab is cheaper now; the five-year tab holds.
Spectrum’s year two is unstated, and its router is a $10 line.
Verizon 5G Home’s low prices need a Verizon phone, and Fios’s need Auto Pay.
AT&T’s “From $35” did not match its $50 card on the page we read.
Starlink’s cheap plans are capped and regional, and hardware is free only in select areas.
Before you choose
This is a list of things to check, not a recommendation:
- Run every provider’s address check. Availability and exact prices vary by location
- Match the speed tier, not the headline. $30 buys 100 Mbps at Spectrum and 300 Mbps at Fios
- Read the discount condition. Bank-account autopay at Xfinity, a phone plan at Verizon 5G Home, a voice line for T-Mobile’s extra $15
- Add the router and the taxes. $10 at Spectrum below 1 Gig; taxes and fees extra almost everywhere
- Decide how long you will stay. Xfinity’s and T-Mobile’s five-year locks against Spectrum’s and Optimum’s one year
- Outside cable and fiber? T-Mobile, Verizon 5G Home and Starlink are the wireless routes, each with its own availability check
Quick answers to what people search
What is the cheapest home internet? On the providers’ pages read October 10, 2026, Spectrum Internet 100 at $30 for a year and Verizon Fios 300 Mbps at $30 with Auto Pay, before taxes and fees.
What is the cheapest gigabit internet? Optimum 1 Gig at $55, then Spectrum and Xfinity at $60 for a year, with Xfinity at $70 on a five-year lock and Verizon Fios at $80.
Which internet providers include taxes and fees? Verizon 5G Home says its pricing is all-in; the others list taxes and fees as extra or do not address them on the plan cards.
Which internet plans have price locks? Xfinity (5 years on its 5-year tab), T-Mobile (5 years), Verizon (3 to 5 years), Optimum (1 year, or 3 with an add-on).
How much is 5G home internet? T-Mobile $50, $60 or $70 with AutoPay; Verizon $60, $70 or $85, or $35, $45 and $60 with a Verizon phone plan and Auto Pay.
How much is Starlink compared with cable? $55 for 100 Mbps and $130 for maximum speeds, against $30 to $45 for 100 to 300 Mbps and $55 to $80 for gigabit at the wired providers.
Is equipment included? Yes at Xfinity, Verizon and T-Mobile; Spectrum includes the modem and charges $10 for the router below 1 Gig; Starlink’s hardware is free only in select areas.
Do I need a phone plan for cheaper internet? At Verizon 5G Home, yes for the $35 to $60 prices; at T-Mobile a voice line takes $15 off; Xfinity and Spectrum instead add a free mobile line to internet.
Bottom line
As of October 10, 2026, home internet starts at $30 at Spectrum and Verizon Fios, $35 at Optimum, $40 to $45 at Xfinity, $50 at AT&T Fiber and T-Mobile, and $55 at Starlink, with gigabit from $55 to $80 among the wired providers. The conditions decide the real price: autopay from a bank account at Xfinity, a phone plan at Verizon 5G Home, a first-year-only price at Spectrum, and taxes and fees on top almost everywhere. The address check comes before any of these numbers.
Prices, conditions and quotations from the plans pages of Xfinity, Spectrum, Verizon, AT&T, T-Mobile, Starlink and Optimum, read October 10, 2026, US, with each provider’s standard autopay-type discount applied. Multi-year totals and undiscounted figures are our own arithmetic. Each provider’s page is the authority and may change. This is general information, not financial advice.
Official sources
- Xfinity: Internet service (5-year and 1-year prices for 300 Mbps to 1.2 Gig, autopay condition, inclusions), read October 10, 2026
- Spectrum: Internet plans (100 Mbps, 500 Mbps and 1 Gig first-year prices, modem and router terms), read October 10, 2026
- Verizon: Fios Home Internet (300 Mbps to 5 Gig prices with Auto Pay, setup fee, guarantees), read October 10, 2026
- Verizon: 5G Home Internet (list and discounted prices, all-in pricing), read October 10, 2026
- AT&T: Fiber (300 Mbps at $50 after the autopay and paperless discount, taxes and fees extra), read October 10, 2026
- T-Mobile: 5G Home Internet plans (Rely, Amplified and All-In with AutoPay, voice-line discount, 5-Year Price Guarantee), read October 10, 2026
- Starlink: Residential (100 Mbps, 200 Mbps and Max prices, hardware offer), read October 10, 2026
- Optimum: Internet (300 Mbps, 500 Mbps and 1 Gig prices with Auto Pay and Paperless, price locks, money-back guarantee), read October 10, 2026