Amazon Prime Cost in 2026: $14.99 a Month, $139 a Year, and the $7.49 Plan
Prime is $14.99 a month or $139 a year, Prime Video alone $8.99, Prime for Young Adults $7.49 or $69 after a 6-month trial, Prime Access $6.99 for assistance recipients.
Amazon Prime has one headline price and three cheaper doors, and the help center lists all of them on one page. As of October 9, 2026, Prime is “$14.99 per month” or “$139 per year,” Prime Video on its own is “$8.99 per month,” Prime for Young Adults is “$7.49 per month” or “$69 per year” for 18-to-24-year-olds and students, and Prime Access is “$6.99 per month” for people on EBT, Medicaid, SNAP or other assistance. By our arithmetic, the annual plan works out to $11.58 a month, a 23% saving over paying monthly for a year, and the young adult annual plan to $5.75. This guide lays out every published price, who qualifies for the discounts, the trials, and the renewal rule, from Amazon’s own pages. If you are leaving instead, our Prime cancellation guide covers the refund rules, and the Prime settlement refund guide covers the FTC case payments.
The quick answer
- Prime: “$14.99 per month” or “$139 per year,” plus sales tax in some states, after a “free 30-day trial”
- Prime Video only: “Prime Video membership is $8.99 per month”
- Prime for Young Adults: “$7.49 per month” or “$69 per year” after a “6-month trial for $0,” for “18-24 year-olds and students,” with “5% cash back” on eligible items
- Prime Access: “$6.99 per month” for “EBT, Medicaid, SNAP, and other select government assistance recipients” or income-verified customers, after a 30-day trial
- Prime Shipping Only Plan: “$14.99 per month,” “Invitation only”
- Renewal: “When your free trial or membership period ends, we’ll automatically charge for the next membership period.”
Key facts at a glance
| Plan | Monthly | Annual | Trial | Who | Monthly equivalent of annual (our math) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Prime | $14.99 | $139 | 30 days | Anyone | $11.58 |
| Prime Video | $8.99 | Not listed | Not stated on the fee page | Anyone | Not applicable |
| Prime for Young Adults | $7.49 | $69 | 6 months | Ages 18 to 24, or students | $5.75 |
| Prime Access | $6.99 | Not listed | 30 days | SNAP, EBT, Medicaid and other assistance recipients, or income-verified | Not applicable |
| Prime Shipping Only | $14.99 | Not listed | Not stated | Invitation only | Not applicable |
Prices from Amazon’s Prime membership fee help page and the Prime, Young Adults and Prime Access sign-up pages, US versions, read October 9, 2026. Amazon adds sales tax in some states.

The full price list, from one help page
Amazon’s membership fee page answers “How much is Amazon Prime?” with a list: “$14.99 per month,” “$139 per year,” and “Prime Video membership is $8.99 per month.” Then the discounts: “Current Amazon Prime for Young Adults membership pricing” is “$7.49 per month” or “$69 per year”; a “Prime Shipping Only Plan (Invitation only)” is “$14.99 per month”; and “EBT, Medicaid, SNAP, and other select government assistance recipients can qualify for a Prime Membership discount. Visit www.amazon.com/primeaccess and verify your eligibility to pay $6.99 per month.”
Two rules apply to all of them. Tax: “Your Prime Membership may be subject to sales tax in some states.” Renewal: “When your free trial or membership period ends, we’ll automatically charge for the next membership period.” And one exclusion: “If your Prime Membership is through a service from another company, contact that company about membership rate and management.”
Prime at full price: $14.99 or $139
The Join Prime page states it twice: “Prime is only $14.99/month (plus tax). Cancel anytime.” and “Enjoy your free 30-day trial of Prime. After, Prime is just $14.99 per month. Cancel anytime.” The plan cards list “Prime Monthly” at “$14.99” “per month after trial” and “Prime Annual” at “$139” “per year after trial.” The benefits the page lists are the delivery tiers (“Same-Day, One-Day, and Two-Day Delivery on millions of items”), Prime Video, deals, free same-day grocery delivery on $25+ orders in selected areas, Amazon Music with Prime, Amazon Photos, “Save 10¢ a gallon on fuel at over 7,500 participating sites,” Grubhub+, and Rx savings.
The arithmetic Amazon’s page does not do: twelve months at $14.99 is $179.88, so the $139 annual plan saves $40.88, about 23%, and is $11.58 a month. Prime Video alone at $8.99 means the delivery, music, photos, fuel and Grubhub side of Prime costs $6.00 a month more than the video alone.
Prime for Young Adults: $7.49, six months free
The Young Adults page replaces the 30-day trial with “6-month trial for $0,” for “18-24 year-olds and students,” who “enjoy full Prime benefits and 5% cash back*” on eligible items. “Trial courtesy of Grubhub. After trial, auto-renews at $7.49/month.” The cards show “$7.49” “per month after trial” and “$69” “per year after trial,” which Amazon frames as “Prime at half the price.” The page adds Prime Reading, Amazon Luna and Grubhub+ to the list, and describes Prime Video as including “live sports, and more with limited ads.” The annual rate works out to $5.75 a month by our math.
Prime Access: $6.99 for assistance recipients
The Prime Access page is headed “All of Prime, half the price.” and defines who qualifies: “Eligible SNAP and other government assistance recipients, or income verified customers can access all of Prime for $14.99 $6.99/month.” The trial is “Try Prime Access free for 30 days,” and eligibility has to be verified at sign-up. The benefit list is the full Prime list, delivery through Rx savings, not a reduced one.
Where the documents disagree or leave gaps
Half price is not quite half. $7.49 is half of $14.99 to the cent; $6.99 is below half. Amazon uses “half the price” for both.
Prime Video’s own page is not the fee page. The $8.99 figure appears on the membership fee page; whether Prime Video has an annual option or a trial is not stated there.
The Shipping Only plan costs the same as Prime. “$14.99 per month,” “Invitation only,” with no explanation on the page of who is invited or why.
“Students” versus “18-24.” The page’s headline says “18-24 year-olds and students”; the fee page calls the plan Prime for Young Adults. Verification rules are on the sign-up flow, not on these pages.
Tax varies. “subject to sales tax in some states,” unquantified.
Before you subscribe or renew
This is a sequence of checks, not a recommendation:
- Check the two discount doors first. Ages 18 to 24, students, or assistance recipients pay $7.49 or $6.99, not $14.99
- If you only stream, price Prime Video alone. $8.99 against $14.99
- Decide annual before the trial ends. $139 is $11.58 a month by our math; the monthly plan costs $40.88 more over a year
- Note the trial length. 30 days for Prime and Prime Access, 6 months for Young Adults, and all auto-renew
- If a carrier or other company bills your Prime, go to them. Amazon’s page sends third-party-billed members elsewhere for rates and changes
- Keep the FTC settlement in mind. Refund rules for past Prime charges are in our settlement guide
Quick answers to what people search
How much is Amazon Prime a month? “$14.99 per month,” plus sales tax in some states, per Amazon’s fee page read October 9, 2026.
How much is Amazon Prime a year? “$139 per year,” which is $11.58 a month by our math.
How much is Prime for students? Prime for Young Adults is “$7.49 per month” or “$69 per year” after a “6-month trial for $0,” for “18-24 year-olds and students.”
How much is Prime Access? “$6.99 per month” for “EBT, Medicaid, SNAP, and other select government assistance recipients” or income-verified customers, after a 30-day trial.
How much is Prime Video without Prime? “Prime Video membership is $8.99 per month.”
Does Amazon Prime auto-renew? Yes. “When your free trial or membership period ends, we’ll automatically charge for the next membership period.”
Is there a cheaper Prime for shipping only? A “Prime Shipping Only Plan” exists at “$14.99 per month,” but it is “Invitation only.”
Bottom line
As of October 9, 2026, Prime costs $14.99 a month or $139 a year, Prime Video alone $8.99, and the two discount plans $7.49 (ages 18 to 24 and students, after six free months) and $6.99 (assistance recipients, after 30 days). The annual plan is the only published discount for everyone else, at $11.58 a month by our math, and every plan renews automatically when its trial or term ends.
Prices, trial terms and quotations from Amazon’s Prime membership fee help page and its Prime, Prime for Young Adults and Prime Access pages, US versions, read on October 9, 2026. The monthly equivalents and savings are our own calculation. Amazon’s pages are the authority and may change. This is general information, not financial advice.
Official sources
- Amazon Help: The Amazon Prime Membership Fee (all current US prices, Prime Access eligibility, auto-renewal, tax), read October 9, 2026
- Amazon: Join Prime page (plan cards, 30-day trial, benefits), read October 9, 2026
- Amazon: Prime for Young Adults page (6-month trial, $7.49 after, 5% cash back, Grubhub+), read October 9, 2026
- Amazon: Prime Access page ($6.99 for SNAP and other assistance recipients or income-verified customers, 30-day trial), read October 9, 2026